EO Lawrence Award goes to 8 scientists and engineers

WASHINGTON, DC -- Secretary of Energy Samuel W. Bodman today named eight winners of the Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award. The Lawrence Award honors scientists and engineers at mid-career for exceptional contributions in research and development that support the Department of Energy and its mission to advance the national, economic and energy security of the United States. The award consists of a gold medal, a citation and an honorarium of $50,000.

"These brilliant scientists and their varied and important research inspire us," Secretary Bodman said. "Their work reminds us of the importance of continued investment in science and the need for increased emphasis on basic research and math and science education programs."

The Lawrence Award was established in 1959 to honor the memory of the late Dr. Lawrence who invented the cyclotron (a particle accelerator) and after whom two major Energy Department laboratories at Berkeley and Livermore, California, are named. The Lawrence Awards, given in seven categories, will be presented at a ceremony in Washington, D.C.

The winners are:

  • Paul Alivisatos, University of California at Berkeley and E.O. Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and Moungi Bawendi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, jointly, for the Materials Research category (the winners of this joint award will share the honorarium);

  • Malcolm J. Andrews, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico, for the National Security category;

  • Arup K. Chakraborty, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, for the Life Sciences category;

  • My Hang V. Huynh, Los Alamos National Laboratory, for the Chemistry category;

  • Marc Kamionkowski, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California, for the Physics category;

  • John Zachara, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington, for the Environmental Sci

Contact: Jeff Sherwood
DOE/US Department of Energy

Page: 1 2 3

Related biology news :

1. Lawrence Platt, MD, receives the 2006 AIUM William J. Fry Memorial Lecture award
2. UC Davis, Lawrence Livermore researchers
3. Awards celebrating women and biotech brilliance
4. Serica scientists win AOSSM Award for ACL (knee) tissue regeneration in preclinical study
5. ASM scores a hat-trick at the 2007 Hermes Creative Awards
6. Developer of new method for treating bone defects wins WPI Entrepreneurship Award
7. Ossurs PROPRIO FOOT takes the Gold 2007 Medical Design Excellence Award
8. Michael R. Zalutsky receives SNMs 2007 Paul C. Aebersold Award
9. SNM recognizes R. Edward Coleman with 2007 Georg Charles de Hevesy Nuclear Pioneer Award
10. Scientists honored with Excellence in Clinical Research Award
11. 2007 Alzheimer Award to Jing Zhang, M.D., Ph.D.

Post Your Comments:

(Date:3/27/2021)... ... March 25, 2021 , ... Phlexglobal announced ... Planet Group, has selected Phlexglobal and its innovative regulatory SaaS software, PhlexSubmission, as ... a comprehensive review of five regulatory software companies, with the review team including ...
(Date:3/27/2021)... ... 25, 2021 , ... The 2021 Virtual Conference on Clinical Trial Supply-Europe ... More and more, clinical trial supply conferences are featuring speakers and forums that ... Asymmetrex’s founder and CEO, James L. Sherley, M.D., Ph.D., presented a talk ...
(Date:3/23/2021)... ... March 23, 2021 , ... G-CON Manufacturing (G-CON), the ... by Matica Biotechnology (Matica Bio), a contract development and manufacturing organization (CDMO) specializing ... the cleanroom build out for its new GMP production facility in College Station, ...
Breaking Biology News(10 mins):
(Date:3/27/2021)... ... March 24, 2021 , ... ... Life Sciences and Healthcare firms of all sizes, adds depth to its team ... specialist. Pardillo, who earned his doctorate in computational chemistry from Florida International University ...
(Date:3/27/2021)... ... March 24, 2021 , ... ABI Wellness, ... and reporting approach designed under CEO Mark Watson, today announced a webinar dedicated ... featuring guest speakers Dr. Cameron Clark, Neuropsychologist and Founder of Sharp Thinking, and ...
(Date:3/27/2021)... ... ... The Xtalks editorial team is pleased to announce the launch of the ... joined by editorial team members Ayesha Rashid, Sydney Perelmutter and Mira Nabulsi to discuss ... including insights from industry experts. , The Xtalks Life Science podcast will feature ...
(Date:3/23/2021)... Conn. (PRWEB) , ... March 23, 2021 , ... ... develops solutions for characterizing microbiome populations down to the strain level, recently unveiled ... applications. , Not all microbes are created equal: some are easy to ...
Breaking Biology Technology:
Cached News: